Kuala Lumpur and Thailand so far

I’m 2 weeks into my travels with Kathryn! Currently we are on Koh Samui Island in Thailand and we have free wifi so I thought I’d take some time out to update you on what we’ve done so far!

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia: So hot. I couldn’t walk up the street without my entire body sweating. I didn’t enjoy KL so much because of the heat. I’ve never experienced heat like that before; hot, sticky, uncomfortable humidity. And we were not near any oceans or lakes to cool off. I saw the famous KL Petronas Towers, they were pretty impressive. Malaysian food is pretty decent, but very oily. We visited the Batu Caves which took over 300 stairs to reach, but they were pretty neat. Otherwise, I didn’t fall in love with Malaysia mostly due to the heat of it all and because KL was just a big city, nothing to sing about.

We took a night train (13 hours) to Thailand, and the VISA was free, which is beyond great. We reached the train station in Hat Yai, Thailand, where we took a 4 hour bus ride to Suratthani, a small town on the ocean. From there we caught a night boat (6 hours) at 11pm to Koh Samui, an island where we’ve been stationed for the past 7 days. The boat ride was surprisingly easy to sleep through, perhaps because it rocked back and forth due to the high ocean waves, like a baby cradle. We reached port at 6am and sleepily stumbled our way to a taxi and to our hostel in the Lamai district of the island.

Thailand is unreal. I actually am falling in love with it. We were in Lamai district for the first 6 nights. Our hostel was right on the beach, which WOULD have been nice had it not been raining for the first 3 days. We came to Thailand during their monsoon season, so I don’t know what we expected. HOWEVER miracles happen and 2 days ago the sun showed it’s beautiful face on the Island of Koh Samui! Kathryn and I rushed to the beach for a glorious morning of tanning and swimming, before the clouds resumed their firm positions in the sky, casting a depressing shadow over the island. Unfortunately we learned the meaning of the expression “be careful what you wish for” because our frolic in the sun resulted in a rather painful sunburn for yours truly, one that I’ve been heroically suffering through for the past few days and I’ve tragically forced myself to stay out of the sun as much as possible over the past 2 days to allow my skin to heal itself. WORTH IT in my opinion, I’m getting nice, brown and tanned (I can almost hear my Chinese friends in Hohhot cringing at the very thought!). Our area was smaller than other areas of the island, less people (well, young people) and fewer shops. But we enjoyed it because of it’s emptiness because we didn’t have to deal with stupid, drunken teenagers.

The same day we arrived on the island was Thailands infamous Full Moon parties on Koh Pha Ngan, the island next to ours (only a 20 minute bumpy boat ride over). The Full Moon Party is an all-night beach party that includes brightly coloured body paint, bucket-sized drinks, and a lot of dancing. I’d guess that there were close to 20,000 people on that beach that night, no kidding. It was insane! We had such a good time! We met a few people on the boat ride over to Koh Ph Ngan and danced with them all night. It was an unforgettable night not only because of the crazy body paint and people, but because there was downpour the majority of the night! I don’t think I’ve ever felt so wet in my entire life, but it was awesome because we didn’t even care about the rain. The Full Moon Party was probably the greatest part of my experience travelling South East Asia so far, and definitely the biggest, most outrageous and best party I’ve ever been to in my entire life!

Also experienced in Thailand: Henna Tattoos on the beach. Monkey handlers practically throwing their tiny monkeys on you (you pay to take a picture). EXCELLENT and DELICIOUS Thai food. One taste and I was hooked! AND…Lady-man drag show. Thailand is well known for their positive outlook on cross-dressing, transgendered people…and trust me, there are a lot of them here! We went to a show full of them and I gotta say, some of those “ladies” were drop dead gorgeous! So tall and striking! I’m going to try and add a photo for you.

Kathryn and I fly to Bangkok tomorrow! Currently we are in our hostel in the Chewang district of the island (we switched it up for our last night). The Chewang district is a lot more hectic; more tourists, more expensive, more popular. We enjoyed our day here checking out the beach and busy streets, and we were lucky enough to see an incredible sunset! I’m sad to leave the island but looking forward to seeing Bangkok and experiencing the rest of our journey as it unfolds.

I’ll try and update as soon as I can! I hope you enjoy the choice 3 photos I’ve included in the blog (and I’ll definitely revisit my past blogs to add photos now that I’ve taught myself how, just give me some time)! Until then, toodles!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ian C
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 11:41:59

    I heard Thailand is beautiful! Im glad you guys are having fun! Stay safe and have fun! Cant wait for your arrival back to Canada!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

