My China Experience comes to a close.

Today is my last day in Hohhot. I will be in Beijing tomorrow and Kuala Lempur on Friday. What an amazing year! I can’t belive it’s over. It’s so surreal.

In one of my first blogs, I mentioned that before I came to China I had made a list of personal questions about my experience to answer at the end of my year in China. Super lame, but sweet. Well, my year is up and here are the questions and I am going to answer them as best I can.

Why did you do it?
Many reasons, all of them important! I wanted to see China, learn more about the culture that I am (half) a part of, I didn’t want to go back to school yet and teaching seemed the best option, and I wanted to test out teaching and see if it’s a passion of mine. But I think the biggest reason to come was a personal one. I wanted to challenge myself and grow independantly.

What was the biggest lesson that you got out of this experience?
Make it count. You can’t come to a country like China with the word “No” in your head.

Worst memory?
I don’t think I’ve had any sort of horrible experience this entire year…but I suppose my worst memory is when I got really sick and didn’t know how to buy medicine or had to teach anyway. Not such good times.

Best memory?
Wow.. I don’t know if I have a “best” memory, just so many good ones! The Great Wall, the food, Chengdu pandas,  my students, the grasslands….and so much more.

 If you could do anything differently, what would you do?
I would somehow find a way to make it to Hong Kong. That’s the one city I wanted to go to but never did. I’m sure I’ll come back to China again and it will be #1 on my list of places to visit. Otherwise, I wouldn’t change a thing.

Did you find the cultural connection to your Chinese side that you hoped to?
To be honest, not really. I think growing up in Canada pretty much blew away any chance of me actually connecting to the culture. That doesn’t mean that I don’t find Chinese culture incredible, because it is. I just never had the feeling that it was “MY” culture, and that’s not a bad thing.

How has this experience changed you?
I feel more indepedant, confident, cultured and grown up than I ever have before. I’ve accomplished everything that I wanted and it was so much more than what I thought it would be. I would recommend an experience like this to anyone because it has left me feeling incredibly satisfied, like I’ve passed some sort of personal life test with flying colours. I’m so sad to leave, but I think that’s a good thing. It’s far better to leave on a high note than to leave indifferent without really understanding what you’re leaving behind.

So that’s that. I’m going to try and update as much as I can over the next 6 weeks while I’m travelling South East Asia, but I’ve got no idea what the hostels will be like in those countries. Thank you so so so much for following me on my journey! It’s made me feel closer to home, knowing that you’ve been checking up on me now and again.

Thanks for reading.
xoxo
Steph

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sara
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 01:22:39

    Like 🙂 Very proud of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

