Shih Tzu’s

If you know my family, you know that we own 2 shih tzu’s named Mai-Ling and Khan, respectively. The Shih Tzu is a tradional chinese dog and the name means “lion” because they were originally bred to resemble lions painted in traditional Chinese art. However, I had always heard that this breed of dog was created specifically for one of the Chinese Emporers as some sort of protection for his palace, which is very strange because shih tzu’s are so lazy and small. I heard a funny rumour recently that I thought I’d share, and it’s that Shih tzu’s were only bred because the Emporer wanted something to warm his feet at night as he slept, and slippers just wouldn’t do. If this rumour is true, then it was an extremely successful invention because my dogs have been sleeping on my feet their entire lives, whether it’s wanted or not! As for the “security dog” rumour, I assume that it has to do with how yippy the breed can be when someone comes through the front door or enters the room. Their barking can be a pretty good security alarm, particularly in ancient China. Anyway, this rumour made me laugh and I thought I’d share! Things that make you go “hmmm…”

Leave a Reply

