CHANGE?!?

Moved into the new apartment! It’s much bigger and appliances actually work, which is a plus. It’s a lot further away from the school though, which is a minus. We also don’t have internet yet, which is why I haven’t updated this week. So besides having to wake up earlier to get to school on time and the lack of internet surfing, I’m quite enjoying the space.

I only have a week and a half left of teaching, I can’t believe it! My P.A.’s have told the students’ parents that I’m leaving and they aren’t pleased. EF parents always complain when there is a teacher change, I don’t really know why. I can guess, of course. Chinese people rarely change occupations or careers; they mostly stick to one thing for the majority of the time. They like consistency. But foreigners, we change our minds constantly, always want to try new things and go different places. The parents get used to their children being taught by the same person every week, and then it always comes as a shock and outrage when the teachers contract is up and they realize that their children will be taught by a new foreigner! Serena, my PA for TBs, said that the parents were asking her to tell me to stay. What do they expect me to do, stay here forever?? It was the same deal when I took over teaching for Ann Marie, all the parents were upset that she was leaving and that they didn’t know me. Surely it’s a good thing when their children get a new teacher because it’s a change in teaching style, accents and classroom dynamics. As long as the guy coming to replace me isn’t a tool (he’s coming fromCanada, that’s a good start 🙂 ) the kids will be fine. Or should I say the parents will be fine.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Blaine Copland
    May 19, 2012 @ 17:08:02

    I agree with the parents; you shouldn’t leave. What am I going to do now that I won’t be able to follow your world travels?

    Reply

Leave a comment