Next NEXT Chapter

One more week until Winter Intensive is over! Lots to be excited about as I approach my final months on this side of the world! In the first week of March, Tamlyn and I are catching the night train to Qinghuangdao for the weekend. Scott, our previous manager, took a job there back in October and we are going to visit the city and check out the school because Tamlyn might be interested in working there once her contract ends. We’ll spend about 2 days there and then night train back to Hohhot. Fingers crossed for no travelers with sleep-apnea!

Then in mid-march Michael from Thunder Bay is flying here to visit! I’ve taken my vacation days off from work and we are going to travel China for 2 weeks! We’re heading to 3 different cities while he’s in the country: Beijing to hopefully see the Great Wall again, Xi’an to see the Terracotta soldiers and maybe the Huaqing Hot Springs, and Chengdu to visit the famous Panda Breeding and Research Base. I need to get a picture holding a baby panda!!! Once our adventure is over, I’ll only have about a month and a half left in Hohhot before my contract ends!

AND It’s official! Starting June 1st I will be traveling South East Asia with my good friend Kathryn Morgan for 6 weeks! I’ve known Kathryn my whole life (through both figure skating and school) and we both have a mutual fixation with traveling and seeing the world before we are both tied down with more school and work. We’ll be meeting up in Kuala Lempur on June 1st (my friend Kyle from EF will be joining us), and we’ll be traveling through Malaysia, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, and HOPEFULLY Bali. We aren’t sure about Bali yet because it’s a bit out of the way, but I would love to go there, it’s supposed to be the most beautiful place in the world! I am beyond excited for the summer!!

So lots of things to look forward to! Can’t wait to see more of the country in spring, and then to see more of the continent in summer! 🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. maryanne rooney
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 08:40:15

    hi steph…you sound extremely happy and psyched….enjoy…it’s an opportunity of a lifetime …..U GO GIRL!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

