Made in China

Just want to have a quick rant about a certain cheap appliance that I have in China. I think that the laundry machine in my apartment (and in every Chinese apartment in general) was created for the soul purpose of destroying your clothes. Not only does it suck all the colour out of them so that they are faded after the very first wash, but I always find ripped off buttons at the bottom of the machine, and it leaves soap/water stains too. All my jeans wore out in my first 7 months here, I bought 4 new pairs when I was in Shanghai. I’ve started only washing my clothes once a month (with the exception of my delicates) in an attempt to prolong the life of my clothes. Hopefully they will hold out for the rest of the contract because I’d much rather spend money on travelling, rather than on new clothes!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marilyn Hanstead
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 05:40:44

    Hi Steph:

    Your laundry woes suck big time! I think it is great you would rather travel than buy new clothes every few months.

    Today is Friday and it is snowing. Still very mild.

    More news today – Murray and Candy are expecting another baby in June. Gracie seems to be excited about becoming a “big sister”.

    No big plans for this weekend so will carry on with the everyday routine stuff.

    Miss you…

    Love Auntie Marilyn

    Reply

  2. Lori
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 06:03:18

    Hi! I think you should wash majority of your clothes in cold water, this will help with the fading. Anything with buttons, turn them inside out, then wash them. This way the buttons will not be exposed to the harshness of the machine.

    Love Ya!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

