“Better get while the gettings good!”

Listening to some good vibration music! It’s inspired me to update! (The song is Up Around the Bend – Clerance Clearwater Revival, in case you were wondering) 😉

I’ve officially been in China for 4 months! 8 months to go (not that I’m counting down), which feels very strange. At times it feels like so long, but sometimes (like right now) it feels way too short! How can I possibly see and do everything I want to see and do in this country with only 8 months left?! Good thing I’m crossing a few things off the bucket list next week.

On Sunday night, myself, Tamlyn, Casey, and Kyle will be boarding a train around 11pm that will arrive in Beijing around 8am Monday morning! My friend Derek from Canada is meeting up with us on Monday and the 5 of us are spending 3 nights in Beijing, then travelling to Qingdao for 3 nights, then back to Beijing for a night, and then back to Hohhot (Derek too)!

It’s going to be a hectic few weeks, to say the least! I’m going to be seeing the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, a Kungfu Opera, a Beer Factory, Acrobats, and whatever else our hearts desire! It’s a week long Chinese festival in China too, so there’s going to be so many different celebrations happening all over Beijing! Also, Qingdao has 10 beaches and I’m very much looking forward to relaxing for a few days, tanning (if its warm enough) and spending time with friends. And then Derek will be in Hohhot for a bit, so hopefully I’ll get to bring him to the museum (I’ve wanted to go for a while), the tombs, the temples, and the arcade in the mall! I’ve been a busy bee this week, trying to make lesson plans for the week following vacation so that I can spend as much free time being a host and not stuck at the school! So yes, life is busy right now but it definitely doesn’t suck!! Lots to look forward to!

So if you don’t see any more updates this week or the following, don’t panic. I’ll be back soon with a detailed outline of my experience in China’s capital!

Adios! xoxo

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lois Christianson
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 00:50:15

    Hi Steph
    It sounds like you are going to have a ball in the next little while. So happy to hear that.
    What an experience.
    Have a great great time and will check on your blog in a couple of weeks.
    LOve Aunty xoxo

    Reply

  2. Gail Johnson
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 01:11:15

    Sounds like a great time. Glad to hear that Derek is meeting up with you and your new friends. Be careful, but enjoy yourself. Love Nan

    Reply

  3. Debra vanderwey
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 08:54:24

    Hey steph have a great time! I really enjoy your posts. Be safe on your journey 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

