The hands-on friendships of China

You may be surprised to hear that there are a few gay bars in Hohhot. There’s one called “Red Men’s Club” that is near the school and hopefully I will convince some people to check it out with me one day! I was surprised to find this out because I had listened to the rumours about China’s strictness on activism, individuality and gay rights and had assumed such clubs would be frowned upon, particularly in a smaller city like Hohhot. But I was wrong, and happily so.

I find a lot of aspects of Chinese culture to be same-sex friendly, actually. Little things that friends do here would be considered a standard faux pas at home. In China, women of all ages (girls to old ladies) hold hands, link arms or walk with their arms around each other while they stroll down the street and attend to day-to-day things. This isn’t so weird because it has always been more socially acceptable for women to be physically closer with each other than men.

So this is the interesting part! Men do the same thing! I’ve seen young boys to grown men holding hands or sitting with their arms around each others shoulders while they walk and talk, or while they eat. I’m very used to it now and see nothing wrong with it, but when I first got here I was pleasantly surprised at how close the men were with each other. Personally, I think its a good thing! Its a sign of friendship and goodwill between people and there doesn’t have to be any homosexual connotation about it. I just found this aspect of Chinese culture to be very fascinating!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. d scosche
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 13:48:22

    i agree with everything you just said. i liked this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

