Kids say the darndest things…

Something funny and adorable happened while I was teaching a lifeclub class for 3 Small Stars the other day. In case I’ve never mentioned it before, lifeclub is when students sign up for extra classes that don’t follow a book, and are essentially more hands-on-activity based lessons. For the Small Stars one, I covered clothes and fashion. They were quite small, two 4 year olds (Sarah and Tom) and a 6 year old (Katie), so I brought a bunch of my own clothes and we had a fashion show (I drew a cat-walk across my classroom and played music), a clothes relay (put all the clothes on before the bomb timer goes off!), and we coloured a bunch of clothes cut-outs, cut them out and pasted them onto paper dolls. When it came time to cut the clothes out, Katie went ahead and had no problem using the scissors, but Tom and Sarah needed help from me and the P.A., being too small to cut it out themselves. While I was helping Sarah, Tom was jabbering away in Chinese and I asked the P.A. what he was saying. She translated it as follows:

“WHO will be the one to cut my paper? WHO will be..the hero?”

I burst out laughing and I thought that was the cutest thing I’d ever heard, so I thought I’d share it. Oh God, listen to me! Gushing about the cute things kids say. My disdain for small children is slowly fading away! Damn you China!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. My-Tien
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 12:48:43

    That is adorable!!! Romeo the other day noticed I was drinking a vodka cooler and I said no, not for you. And he responded with “is it yucky? I’m too young. When I’m your age auntie? And if I drink it now I will die right? I’m 3 so I’m too young for that. But when I grow up then maybe.”

    Not nearly as cute as yours but it’s cute to hear children make adult conversations.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

