Stephanie Triumphant!! And how I deal with crying children.

AT LAST!! I got a new student in my Small Stars Green class, and it just so happened to be a little boy with no english name. Without hesitation I named him Pacey and, just like that, my teaching career has reached its peak!

I’m really starting to enjoy teaching my youngest class, they are so cute and funny and they love me to pieces. I don’t like when they cry though, which happens often, unfortunately. Someone looses a game, gets the answer wrong, falls down, gets pushed by another child, etc. Anything can trigger the tears of a Small Star. I usually let the P.A. deal with them if they cry because if I give the crying child attention, so will the rest of the class and then it will take 5 minutes to get everyone’s attention back to the task at hand. I find 99% of the time, the child who cries just wants attention. A kid falls down and looks at me with tears in his/her eyes, and I say “You’re fine” and carry on, and 99% of the time they will pout for a minute then rejoin the game! Or sometimes to avoid tears I will give the teary one some special attention; let them play the game first or be the teacher’s special helper for a few minutes. Otherwise, I don’t really give them much sympathy…unless its me that did the injuring. For example, yesterday I elbowed Danny right smack in the eye by mistake! I felt so bad I gave him a big hug, and the little hero didn’t even cry! He happily accepted my hug and apology with a smile and no tears! What a champion.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lois Christianson
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 06:38:24

    Hi Steph
    The little ones are sure cute huh. I have 4 of them right here in Winnipeg. You are handling them just great, but hey, quite punching them in the eye……just kidding.
    Spent the Sept longweek-end in Keewatin. Time went fast and now I am home again.
    Think of you on a regular basis.
    Love you
    Aunty

    Reply

  2. My-Tien
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 12:32:04

    I lol’d at how you ended this post. Man, I miss you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

