Oops.

I did something earlier that didn’t really think about until just now, but thinking back I probably didn’t use my best judgement on the matter.

During class, one of my students ran up to me and said that another student was hitting him. I said “Well, hit him back!” and went back to writing on the white board.

In retrospect I probably could have given at least 10 better, more mature responses, but that was the instinctual one that came out. I could defend myself and say that I’m preparing this kid for the real world and how you need to stand up for yourself! …but I, too, can calls it when I sees it. That was just straight-up bad advice to give a child. 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ben Babcock
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 00:20:25

    Totally agree that it was bad advice, but it was such a Stephanie response. 😛

    Reply

  2. maryanne
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 04:52:46

    sounded good to me

    Reply

  3. Lois Christianson
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 06:59:18

    I just had to laugh…don’t suggest that again though!

    Reply

  4. Gail Johnson
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 10:00:37

    That is something I would have said too! I can remember sending your Uncle Barry back outside to hit one of his friends back even if the friend was 3 years older. Not the best thing to do if you are a teacher though.

    Reply

  5. My-Tien
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 12:30:17

    Like your friend Ben said, a very Steph response lol but at least you’re not only teaching these students but also yourself 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

