Idiots

Today I did something very confrontational and spontaneous, which I don’t like to do/get to do very often. I was walking home from the gym and in front of me walked two guys who were no older than I am, drinking bottles of juice and talking. One was wearing red, one was wearing blue. I was strolling along, listening to music and minding my own business when Blue casually tossed his bottle to the side and left it rolling down the street. I made a split-second decision and picked it up and walked close behind them, waiting. About 30 seconds later we approached a public trash can. I shouted “Hey!” and Red looked around and saw me pointing a finger at Blue’s perviously discarded bottle held up in my other hand. He stopped walking and nudged Blue, who turned around and stared at me, a look of confusion plastered on his face. Once I knew I had both of their attentions, I mimicked his casual toss and threw the bottle in the trash. With a look on my face that I hope read “Now, was that so hard?” and a casual shrug, I continued on my journey home. Blue and Red’s look of confusion turned to recognition and finally a sort of amused, sheepish embarrassment, like a child who got caught with his hand in the cookie jar. I’m not sure exactly why I did this, but it’s probably a mixture between dislike for pointless littering, China’s filthyness and idiots.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ben Babcock
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 23:49:21

    Congratulations. You are officially a teacher.

    Reply

  2. Blaine Copland
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 04:40:20

    Saving the planet, one idiot at a time.

    Reply

  3. My-Tien Nguyen
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 23:58:09

    I love that when I read your blog posts it’s like a movie playing in my head. Your blog has now become a weekly sitcom I must tune into religiously.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

