I’ve been to the dentist several times so I know the drill.

*ba-doom-doom-ching!* Good pun.

Something that really concerns me is the state of children’s teeth in China, particularly in the kids under 6. Many of the kids in my Small Stars classes have black and grey, decaying, rotting teeth. Whenever they smile or talk to me I can’t help but stare into the depths of their soulless mouths and grimace at the wasting points I see there. Poor things! The concept behind the parents lack of mouth treatment in young children is apathy: their teeth will fall out eventually and they’ll take care of the real teeth that grow in afterwards. I’m not sure what the consequences are for this method, but I see many teenagers with braces and decent looking chops, so I guess in the end it all works out? Still, I find it really sad when I see my students with rotten teeth. A part of me wants to dedicate one lesson to proper dental care. In the Small Stars curriculum, every ninth lesson is an open class and you can choose to teach a random subject if you want. I’ll buy them all toothbrushes and floss and we’ll learn vocab like “cavity”, “gums”, “floride”, and “toothpaste”. We’ll play games like Knock Out the Teeth! with teeth-bowling pins and a ball, or Pin the Tooth on the Face!! And when one team looses, I’ll say “Don’t worry kids. The real loser here is Gingivitis!!” Brilliant! The more I think about it, the more I like it. What do you think, good idea?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Blaine Copland
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 04:25:07

    Great idea. If you can get the kids to want to take charge of their own dental care, maybe it will rub off on their parents. I can only imagine the harm to their bodies swallowing all that poison from their rotting teeth. I suppose its silly to ask if they have floridated water. Not. The things we take for granted. Grab some toothbrushes (make sure they are the soft type) and some floridated toothpaste and knock Gingivitis on his keester! Maybe a lesson in flossing, too. You’re going to be a teacher they remember for the rest of their lives because you really care about them.

    Reply

  2. maryanne
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 10:32:44

    of course i love the idea…remember to mention the tooth fairy likes white teeth…many northern native children have same issue…i question the diet…

    you may make a good dental hygienist at home…a 3 year program now

    “down like the rain and up like the flowers”

    Reply

  3. Lois Christianson
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 00:28:28

    Hi Steph
    What an excellent teachers you are. Great ideas for dental care. Love it.
    Its OK to have favs as I always did when I taught gymnastics etc. I still hear from some of them..neat eh.
    Your Nan was here on the week-end and enjoyed her birthday with everyone. Spent time with Sara & Dan, seems like a great guy to put up with the whole family.
    Were you glad to get back to Huhot?
    Always great reading your blogs, really enjoy them.
    Have a good week and talk to you soon.
    Lots of love Aunty

    Reply

  4. My-Tien
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 12:03:18

    First of all, amazing idea. Second of all when you described looking into the depths of their mouths all I could imagine was the ghost child in the closet from The Grudge. Ugh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

