Naming is my middle name.

So like I’ve said before, the privilege that comes with being an English teacher at EF is getting to name new students that don’t have English names yet. I’ve been teaching for a total of 2 months now, and here are the names I’ve distributed so far:

Buffy
Elle
Marie
Robin
Juliet
Rose
Haley
Leo (Dicaprio)
Ian
Lily
Ginny

Now, not all of these names were my first choice. With the exception of Rose (who I named after Rose DeWitt Bukater from Titanic, respectfully) and Haley (modelling Haley James Scott from One Tree Hill), all of the nameless were over the age of 15, so unfortunately they came with a brain and an opinion. Even more unfair, they were all girls except for 2. For most of them, I would write down a list of 8-10 names that I like and I let them choose (obviously making my preference very clear). For the boys I always put Pacey, Dawson and Romeo first… but to no avail. On the bright side though, the one boy did pick Leo from the list, which makes my Titanic reenactment complete! It’s no Pacey though. But I’m a patient person and soon the time will come when a Pacey will walk the streets of China not even comprehending the awesomeness that is his name and my life will finally have meaning in it! I refuse to leave this country until I have anointed atleast ONE Dawson’s Creek character.

Oh, and in case you were wondering, here is a list of the 8-10 names that I’ve written on the board lately, since many of the other names have been chosen (yay!). Can you connect them to my life, or a tv show/movie?? 😉
Girls: Willow, Dawn, Sookie, Suzie, Satine, Suri, Quinn, Jean Grey, Peyton, Lana, Joey
Boys: Pacey, Dawson, Romeo, Marshall, Barney, Ted, Orlando, Alcide, Xander, Oz, Clark

*shrugs*

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. My-Tien
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 12:00:29

    Alcide. GOOD choice. Pardon me, as I understand my name IS already Asian (although pronounced Canadian) I think it’s a fair argument it is at equal level with English/Canadianish as Alcide. Just sayin’.

    Reply

  2. Giancarlo Cerquozzi
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 02:35:43

    As I continue reading, all I can hope for is that someone has chosen Alcide, or Sookie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

