The downside

So after obtaining my visa and spending a wonderful few days with my family in Toronto, I flew back to China which involved a 34 hour commute. At 1am I flew from Toronto to Hong Kong for 15 hours, arriving in Hong Kong around 5:30am China Time. Then I flew from Hong Kong at 8:00am, arriving in Beijing at 10:30am, where I had to wait until 10:00pm for my flight out of Beijing to Hohhot. Safe to say, at the end of the hour flight to Hohhot I was not in the best of moods. So of course, thats when I get into a cab and head to my apartment and the worst happened: The cab driver ripped me off!! Its only about 20 kwai to get from my apartment to the airport, so thinking logically, it would be the same amount on the way back. Nah. I got to my apartment and asked for a receipt, which he wouldn’t print off. All I had was a 50 kwai, so I gave that to him and waited for my change, but he just got out of the cab and took my suitcase out of the back. I began to argue, using my fingers to show him the right amount, knowing perfectly well what he was doing. He argued back in Chinese, but I understood the jist of his argument based on his gestures: My suitcase was heavy when he lifted it into the car, so apparently it’s an extra charge. A 30 kwai extra charge?!?! I was so angry!! I was shouting at him and he was shouting back and finally I got fed up, shook my head, and just walked away. There really was nothing I could do. I’ve talked before about how Chinese people will try to take advantage of tourists, and cab drivers are the worst. I had been warned about the cabs coming back from the airport too, almost everyone gets ripped off by them. I’m still so mad!!! But lesson learned: for now on, only carry 20’s and 5’s.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maryanne
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 20:01:34

    sounds like cabbies r the same all over the world….tip included!

    Reply

  2. My-Tien
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 11:56:53

    😦 frig I should’ve included some Kwai in the care package I sent you! I feel your pain boo it’s not a good feeling ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

