DVD Heaven

There is an awesome dvd store in Hohhot that isn’t far from my apartment, but not close enough for me to want to walk there either. I’ve been there once so far, but can’t wait to go back! The store sells, you guessed it, dvds! But also music records and cds, neat pop-culture books (all in Chinese) and other random things you might find in an HMV, but asian-ized. It’s pretty rad, I think I’ll find a lot of neat gifts there that I can bring home for friends and family! What makes the dvd store awesome is how cheap and illegal everything seems. That’s right, illegal. The movies at the dvd store are about 10 kwai each (what, like $1.50 Canadian?) and it’s because they are all illegally copied. It’s awesome because you can find movies that have just been released in America or Canada at the dvd store in just a few weeks! There are usually 2 types of the same movie: the normal kind that you could buy in Canada that comes in a sealed box which can be about 30 kwai, and the Chinese kind that is a cheaper but decent copy of the original. Most of the time the copied movies are of equal quality, with the exception of the odd one that skips or has no sound for 30 second or so at one point. But if you can ignore those things like I do, you’ll find the dvd store a diamond in the rough. A small problem, however, is that the majority of copied movies come with Chinese-dubed voices (which you can turn back to english) and Chinese subtitles (which I have learned to ignore). Before we got batteries for the dvd remote, I couldn’t turn off the Chinese version at all, so I was forced to watch XMen-2 in Chinese! I can use this to my advantage though: the more movies I watch in Chinese the better my Mandarin will get! If I find the bootlegged version of Titanic, I’m going to know Mandarin in no time!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SUZIE
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 12:53:15

    Ouuu get me a present!! xoxo

    Reply

  2. My-Tien Nguyen
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 14:04:45

    Your last comment made my night.

    Reply

  3. Giancarlo Cerquozzi
    Sep 28, 2011 @ 11:39:09

    HAVE YOU FOUND A COPY OF MARY POPPINS?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

