backfire

Just a quick update about my progress with Baby. If you’ve been checking my blog regularly, you’d know about my glorified babysitting job with a particularly spirited 3 year old named Baby. And by spirited I really mean demonic. On friday I took the time to make her 3 puzzles with pictures on them, paper letters that spell out BABY, and magnets to make faces. It was a paper ripping massacre. There were no survivors, and I still had 20 minutes left. I made it out, but just barely.

Well, as you may recall, I asked for advice about what to do with a 3 year old for 40 minutes twice a week, and I got some really awesome suggestions! Thanks so much to all, and to my cousin Pam for suggesting buying more toys geared towards mini-V.I.Ps – we are going out next week to do that! And also to Tricia Allen for suggesting I teach her Head and Shoulders Knees and Toes, and other nursery rhymes. That kept her occupied for a good 4-6 minutes (a lifetime in Baby minutes).

Unfortunately, all of your wonderful suggestions came with a price! I got my schedule for next week, and Baby has requested 3 days of V.I.P lessons, instead of her usual 2! So now I get the little angel for 40 minutes every Wednesday, Thursday AND Friday. You should have seen the look on my face when I found out. So in the end, does it pay off to be a better teacher?? Is it really “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade”? I think I’ll stick with a more nontraditional motto for now on: “If life gives you lemons, just say f*** the lemons and bail”.

Anyone know any paper-shredding games?? 😉

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ben Babcock
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 10:56:12

    Stephanie, when life gives you lemons, don’t make lemonade. Make life take the lemons back. Burn the house down with the lemons.

    You could try having her make paper snowflakes. That might channel her need to destroy paper in a creative way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

