23 or 24???

Holy!! 2 updates in under 24 hours!! Lets hope this luck continues!

Today is my birthday! I am 23 years old and I think this is the first time I’ve ever celebrated this day away from home!

An interesting fact about birthdays in China: to the more traditional Chinese, when you are born they consider you to be 1 years old. Therefore, everyone is 1 or 2 years older than they actually are, depending on when they were born on the lunar cycle. So traditionally, this means I have skipped over my 23rd birthday and am 24 years old instead!! A lot of the Chinese teaching assistants at the school are between 21-30 years old, and they do not follow this tradition so much, but their parents or grandparents do. I think I will follow the new generations view and stick to being 23, or else Im moving back to Canada and staying young forever!!

I am a little bit meloncholy today because I miss everyone from home, but all my new friends here have been really cool. Tamlyn moved in a few days ago so now I have a roommate (extremely happy about this!) and when I woke up at 7am today, she had a card and a cup of juice waiting for me! And then at school the administrators and staff surprised me with a mini cardboard crown and a cake! I was sung to in Chinese AND English, and tonight they are taking me to a restaurant called “Yamaha” (sp?) and they promise I’ll love it. Even though  I wish all my loved ones from home could celebrate today with me, I know they are here in spirit and Im sure this will be a birthday I’ll never forget!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tricia Allan
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 06:41:17

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY STEPH! I’m sure you had a great celebration, even though you’re on the other side of the world. You share a birthday with Jackie, my daughter-in-law. I think I knew that but forgot til I read your blog.

    Ken and I finally finalized our plans for travel this summer. We are flying to China on July 23 and will be there for 3 weeks. We’ll be flying direct to Shanghai (and I must admit I am dreading the flight, having endured it before). We’ve been checking out whether or not a trip to Inner Mongolia is feasible. Maybe we can meet up somewhere? Do you get holidays? Anyway, I’ll keep you posted.

    I’m enjoying your blogs. They’re very candid. I’ve seen and heard the streets of China =but from a tourists perspective – and I was never alone there. I at least had Ken with me, if not Ken and Richard. Your perspective is definitely different.

    Looking forward to reading more blogs.

    Happy Birthday .

    Tricia

    Reply

  2. Lois Christianson
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 00:04:56

    Hi Stephie I tried phoning you on your birthday but couldn’t get through…don’t know why not.How’s teaching?It sounds like you are working with a great bunch of people.
    Love reading your blogs.Wouldn’t it be great if Ken & Tricia could meet you there…awesome.I sent a birthday card but to the first address you sent. you might get it.
    The twins are playing soccer, really fun to watch every Friday.I’ll write soon Loads of XXXOOOO Aunty

    Reply

  3. Holly
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 03:07:06

    YOUR BIRTHDAY!!! I just saw this now… for some reason i didnt even remember to comment on Facebook that day! … well many days later I wanna say Im happy you decided to be 23… welcome to this year in your life… i celebrated my 23rd bday in Nov in Guyana… too funny becasue in Guyana they say the same thing about being born at 1… hahah I was so confused about life and my age for months after this simple discovery haha… my dad also has shared this belief for years… i used to think he was jsut being a grumpy old man saying he was alwasy a year older.. but mabye not… haha

    ps. this year will be monumental for you steph! its already started with so much!..

    Much love gal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

